This is the "Current Month" page of the "New in the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New in the Library   Tags: ebooks, most popular books, new books, new in library  

Browse this list of new books and ebooks and our most popular books. Send us an email request to borrow them.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2017 URL: http://pennhort.libguides.com/NewInTheLibrary Print Guide RSS Updates

Current Month Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New eBooks in the Library - November - December 2017

Cover Art
Common Interior Alaska Cryptogams - Gary A. Laursen; Rodney D. Seppelt
Call Number: QK511.A4 L38 2009eb
ISBN: 9781602231092
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
With "Common Interior Alaska Cryptogams", Gary A. Laursen and Rodney D. Seppelt offer the first field guide to cryptogams of Interior Alaska. Useful to both lay and professional investigators, this fully illustrated compendium covers mushroom fungi, lichenized fungi, licheni-colous fungi, slime molds, mosses, and liverworts.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
Don't Throw It, Grow It! - Deborah Peterson
Call Number: SB419.P48 2008eb
ISBN: 9781612122182
Publication Date: 2008-05-07
Don’t throw out your kitchen scraps — grow them! Discover how you can transform leftover pomegranate seeds, mango pits, and dried bits of gingerroot into thriving plants. From the common carrot to the exotic cherimoya, you’ll be amazed at the gardening possibilities hidden in the foods you eat.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
Fox - Martin Wallen
Call Number: QL795 .F8 W35 2006eb
ISBN: 9781861894922
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
This book is the first to fully explore the fox as the object of both derision and fascination, from the forests of North America to the deserts of Africa to the Arctic tundra.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
Ginger - P. N. Ravindran (Editor); K. Nirmal Babu; K. Nirmal Babu (Editor)
Call Number: QK99 .A1 .M435 2015eb
ISBN: 9781420023367
Publication Date: 2004-12-28
This book covers all aspects of ginger, including botany, crop improvement, chemistry, biotechnology, production technology in the major producing countries, diseases, pests, and harvesting. It also explores processing, products, economics and marketing, pharmacology, medicinal applications, and uses as a spice and flavoring.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
An Introduction to Landscape and Garden Design - James Blake
Call Number: SB472.45 .B535 2016eb
ISBN: 9780754674863
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
This refreshingly down-to-earth introduction to the vast subject of landscape design and construction answers all these questions, guiding new students through the many facets of professional practice and welding together the artistic, legal, financial, environmental and management issues which can seem so dauntingly disconnected.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
Plant Pathology - George N. Agrios
Call Number: SB731 .A35 1988eb
ISBN: 9780323139694
Publication Date: 2012-12-02
Plant Pathology, Third Edition, provides an introduction to the fundamental concepts of plant pathology, incorporating important new developments in the field. The present volume also follows closely the organization and format of the Second Edition. It includes two new chapters, ""Plant Disease Epidemiology"" and ""Applications of Biotechnology in Plant Pathology."

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
The Bold Dry Garden - Johanna Silver; Marion Brenner (Photographer)
Call Number: SB475.83 .S558 2016eb
ISBN: 9781604697728
Publication Date: 2016-10-05
The Bold Dry Garden offers unparalleled access to the garden and the extraordinary woman responsible for it. In its stunningly photographed pages, you’ll discover the history of the garden and the design principles and plant palette that make it unique.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
The Cultural History of Plants - Prance G Staff
Call Number: SB71 .C86 2005eb
ISBN: 9780203020906
Publication Date: 2005-01-20
This valuable reference will be useful for both scholars and general readers. It is both botanical and cultural, describing the role of plant in social life, regional customs, the arts, natural and covers all aspects of plant cultivation and migration and covers all aspects of plant cultivation and migration.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
The Early Years Gardening Handbook - Sue Ward
Call Number: SB457 .W37 2010eb
ISBN: 9781909101036
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
The practical guide to creating a working garden for children in the early years to enjoy year after year. Whatever time of year it is, involving young children in gardening can be an excellent way to develop a wide range of skills for the EYFS and can bring children of all abilities together.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
The Fusarium Laboratory Manual - John F. Leslie; Brett A. Summerell; Suzanne Bullock (Illustrator)
Call Number: SB741.F9 L47 2006eb
ISBN: 9780470276464
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
For the first time in over 20 years, a comprehensive collection of photographs and descriptions of species in the fungal genus Fusarium is available. This laboratory manual provides an overview of the biology of Fusarium and the techniques involved in the isolation, identification and characterization of individual species and the populations in which they occur.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

Cover Art
The Well-Tended Perennial Garden - Tracy DiSabato-Aust
Call Number: SB434 .D573 2017eb
ISBN: 9781604697872
Publication Date: 2017-02-22
Since its original publication nearly thirty years ago, The Well-Tended Perennial Garden has helped home gardeners successfully plan, plant, and tend their gardens. Now Tracy Di-Sabato-Aust’s trusty advice and reassuring tone are back and better than ever in this completely revised new edition.

To access this eBook, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

 

New Books in the Library - November - December 2017

Cover Art
The Bees in Your Backyard - Joseph S. Wilson; Olivia Messinger Carril
Call Number: QL567.1.U6 W55 2016
ISBN: 9780691160771
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
The Bees in Your Backyard provides an engaging introduction to the roughly 4,000 different bee species found in the United States and Canada, dispelling common myths about bees while offering essential tips for telling them apart in the field.

Cover Art
Carnivorous Plants - Nigel Hewitt-Cooper
Call Number: SB432.7 .H48 2016
ISBN: 9781604695793
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Once known only to collectors, adolescent boys, and fans of the cult film The Little Shop of Horrors, carnivorous plants are poised to be the next big trend. They provide striking architectural style and can be grown indoors and in gardens. Carnivorous Plants is an accessible, smartly designed guide to growing this unusual group of plants.

Cover Art
Essential Pruning Techniques - George E. Brown; Tony Kirkham (Revised by); Andrea Jones (Photographer)
Call Number: SB125 .B762 2017
ISBN: 9781604692884
Publication Date: 2017-03-22
Pruning is one of the most important and least understood horticultural skills. Knowledge of proper technique and the needs of individual plants makes it possible to develop a strong framework and correct awkward, dangerous, or unattractive growth.

Cover Art
Heirloom Plants - Lorraine Harrison; Thomas Etty
Call Number: SB453 .H3237 2016
ISBN: 9781613735756
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Heirloom gardening is responsible gardening, and this book is the perfect companion for home growers looking for interesting varieties to tend while saving threatened and forgotten plants for future generations.

Cover Art
The Inspired Landscape - Susan Cohen
Call Number: SB469.37 .C64 2015
ISBN: 9781604694390
Publication Date: 2015-10-21
Featuring the work of 21 landscape architects from around the world, The Inspired Landscape traces each project from the initial spark of creativity through its stunning completion. Lushly illustrated with original sketches, plans, and photographs, this invaluable resource will embolden designers to delve into the myriad sources that fuel the creative process.

Cover Art
Nursery Trade Census - Seed Savers Exchange (Compiled by)
Call Number: SB362.3 .N87 2017
ISBN: 9780988474925
Publication Date: 2017-06-09
"This is the fifth census of the United States nursery trade conducted by Seed Savers Exchange. The project, formerly known as Fruit, berry, & nut inventory, was initiated by Kent Whealy to document industry trends and aid professionals and hobbyists alike in finding and preserving rare varieties.

Cover Art
Redouté to Warhol - Lucia Tongiorgi Tomasi (Contribution by); Susan Fraser; Gregory Long (Foreword by); Sir Peter Crane (Introduction by); Tony Willis (Contribution by); Joanna L. Groarke (Volume Editor); Sally Amstrong Leone (Editor); The Graphics Office (Designed by)
Call Number: QK98.3 .R43 2016
ISBN: 9780692783627
Publication Date: 2016-10-08
This catalog accompanies the New York Botanical Garden exhibition Redouté to Warhol: Bunny Mellon’s Botanical Art, which features masterworks of the botanical art collection belonging to the late Rachel Lambert (“Bunny”) Mellon. Curated by Dr. Lucia Tongiorgi Tomasi, Susan Fraser, and Tony Willis, the exhibition comprises nearly 80 important works of art ranging from rare watercolors by renowned botanical artists, such as Jacques Le Moyne de Morgues and Pierre-Joseph Redouté, to 20th-century paintings by Pablo Picasso and Andy Warhol. This exhibition catalog provides a new perspective from which to appreciate Bunny Mellon's extensive collection and appreciation of botanical art.

Cover Art
The Wild Trees - Richard Preston; Andrew Joslin (Illustrator)
Call Number: SD397.R3 P74 2007
ISBN: 1400064899
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
"Hidden away in foggy, uncharted rain forest valleys in Northern California are the tallest organisms the world has ever sustained--the coast redwood trees. 96% of the ancient redwood forests have been logged, but the fragments that remain are among the great wonders of nature. The biggest redwoods can rise more than thirty-five stories above the ground, forming cathedral-like structures in the air.

McLean Library Staff

Profile Image
McLean Library Staff
Contact Info
McLean Library of PHS
100 N. 20th Street, 1st floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103

215-988-8772

Hours: 9:30 - 5 Monday - Friday
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip