Orchids: Books

Short story in: The Complete Stories of J. G. Ballard

Short story in: The Collected Stories of Arthur C. Clarke

Short story in: The Garden of Reading : An Anthology of 20th Century Short Fiction About Gardens and Gardeners.

Short story available online or in: H.G. Wells: The Complete Short Story Collection.

Short story available in print or in audio in BBC classic radio scifi.

See especially Chapter 4, which has a section on orchids in literature.

Here is both a how-to book and a stunningly photographed field guide. Beginning with the one persistent myth surrounding orchids (that they-re difficult to grow) and debunking it thoroughly, Mr. McDonald describes potting mediums, water and air needs, light and lack of light, how to create an orchid garden, and troubleshooting. From there the book introduces 100 dazzling varieties and explains how to raise and care for them, from popular cattleyas and phalaenopsis to hauntingly beautiful ascocendas, charming miltoniopsis, or pansy orchids, vandas and oncidiums.

The names of those early orchid hunters are preserved today in the Latin names by which the orchids they discovered are still known. In the last two decades orchids have been subject to extensive hybridisation in the search for novelty and ever more fantastic colours and shapes; indeed thousands upon thousands of hybrids have appeared. Jack Kramer concentrates on the original botanical orchids as they appeared in nature and their habitats. These orchids had waned in popularity with the introduction of the new hybrids and were also at risk in many cases of extinction as their natural habitats were despoiled and ravaged by man. Fortunately, new cloning techniques have rescued such endangered species from oblivion. This book addresses the technical needs of the novice orchid enthusiast in choosing species appropriate to the climate and facilities available, as well as guiding the beginner in the basics of orchid cultivation. '

Advances in home climate technology have spurred a dramatic rise in the popularity of orchids as houseplants. Wide availability and affordability have made them far more accessible. Modern orchid varieties are hardy and come in a vast array of colors and sizes to suit any gardener's home environment.

Easy Orchids shows just how easy it is to fill the home year-round with these colorful and scented blooms. The book is packed with glorious color photographs of orchids from around the world and gives practical guidance and expert tips in a clear and easy-to-use format.

Wherever you live in the world, you can grow orchids in your garden. From lady's slippers in boreal forests to dendrobiums hanging from tropical palms, orchids provide color and elegance unmatched by any other garden flower. Although it may sound too good to be true, many orchids are actually low-maintenance plants for various backyard habitats — and don't need special pots or greenhouses. In this exciting book, Robert Friend shows gardeners how to introduce orchids into the garden by attaching them to trees, fixing them to rocks and walls, or planting them directly into garden beds. He details more than 500 orchid choices for every garden situation and supplies practical cultivation information. The author draws on a lifetime of experience with orchids to explain how to choose the right orchid for a given climate and how to landscape with orchids in different types of gardens from tropical to cool-climate areas, from large acreages to small courtyard gardens. Growing Orchids in Your Garden offers an array of dramatic ideas for every reader.

Whether your garden is a windowsill, a basement, a greenhouse, or a plot of land, "Home Orchid Growing" is the only reference book you'll ever need to cultivate one of natures most varied and fascinating plants. In the past forty years, it has become the best-known and most authoritative work in its field, and even gardeners who still have an original copy of this classic work will find much to inspire and delight them in this revised and updated fourth edition.

The third edition of this definitive handbook on orchid cultivation incorporates major revisions in taxonomy, text, and illustrations. An authoritative resource for professional and amateur orchid growers and botanists for more than a decade, this edition of The Manual of Cultivated Orchid Species adds 24 pages of color photographs of species - 144 new photographs plus 96 replacement shots - and 62 line drawings. The sections on taxonomy have been substantially expanded to include updated treatments of orchid biology, diversity, and classification, and new species of spectacular cultural merit are described.

Excellent, comprehensive guide—meticulously researched, clearly written and profusely illustrated—describes the characteristics and basic needs of hundreds of orchid species—from the thimble-sized Dendrobium frigidum to the large, fragrant blossoms of the Cattleya walkerana. Includes Encyclopedia of Representative Species.

1500 orchid species are profiled in this authoritative, detailed, and carefully researched encyclopedia. Infinitely varied and hugely interesting, these strikingly beautiful plants are sumptuously illustrated with over 1000 photographs in a reference that no orchid lover can afford to be without. Isobyl la Croix is a scientist, plant hunter, and horticulturalist; her deep passion for orchids informs the plant selection and adds depth to the plant descriptions. The cultivation advice includes information about the orchid's native habitat—including elevation, geography, and climate. Recent developments in DNA analysis have led to some surprising findings with regard to the relationships between orchids, and the author has undertaken an extensive effort to bring all orchid names up-to-date to reflect the latest scientific thinking and taxonomy. From Acampe to Zygostates, no other serious reference approaches the depth and authority of this remarkable book.

From selecting the right plant to providing proper growing conditions, Orchids for Every Home is your complete handbook to keeping your orchids healthy and blooming. Starting with the most popular orchids that require the least care and progressing to more high-maintenance flowers, this practical guide is organized to help you find the orchid that is just right for you and the conditions in your home. You'll learn about 104 different orchids, including Phalaenopsis, Miltoniopsis, Aygopetalum, Brassia, Dendrobium, and many more. All plant profiles include:
A description of the plant and its flowers When and how often it blooms Where to site it Watering and other care instructions
In addition, a troubleshooting section helps you identify problems--such as sunburn, viruses, mealybugs, and red spider mites--and shows you how to quickly and efficiently deal with them. Both beautiful and practical, Orchids for Every Home shows you just how easy it is to grow these exquisite flowers.

Without a doubt, the most widely grown orchids in the world are the species and hybrids of Phalaenopsis, the "moth orchids." Since their discovery by western botanists in the 18th century, phalaenopsis were considered aristocrats even among orchids and were eagerly sought out by the most discerning — and wealthy — of collectors. With advances in orchid propagation and breeding in the middle 20th century, however, these orchids became accessible and affordable to anyone with an eye for exceptional beauty. Few floriculture crops have swamped the marketplace as suddenly as phalaenopsis has in recent years, with millions of plants being produced for the mass market annually. Moth orchids have helped eliminate the misconception of orchids as temperamental conservatory plants only for the very rich. In the words of author Eric Christenson, we are witnessing "the makings of an orchid revolution."

In 1818, William Cattley succeeded in flowering one of the first species of the genus that would bear his name. These first cattleyas are the classic cattleyas, whose form defined the essence of tropical orchids for generations to come. Indeed, the color of their flowers became known as "orchid." In this helpful and informative book, each classic Cattleya species is described in fascinating detail, and its role in breeding programs is elucidated. All that is required to appreciate and grow the large-flowered cattleyas successfully is included. Cultivation, humidity and watering, fertilizing, propagation, and diagnosing and treating problems are detailed, making this volume valuable for both veteran orchid enthusiasts and those who simply love these beautiful flowers.

This handsome reference, now available in paperback, is sure to delight gardeners with a casual interest in orchids as well as the committed enthusiast and professional. Encompassing a wide spectrum of orchid genera, over 1100 species and hybrids commonly in cultivation are detailed. With an authoritative but accessible text written by acknowledged experts of international renown, the book features all the pertinent topics which guide the reader to an understanding of these wonderful flowers: orchid habitats, distribution, classification, hybrids, pollination, cultivation, and conservation. The alphabetical "Orchids A–Z" section includes descriptions, taxonomy, currently accepted names and synonyms, geographic distribution, notes on culture, and hundreds of color photographs of the best-known species in cultivation.

Orchids are the largest family of plants in the world. With 30,000 known species, you could acquire a different orchid every day for eighty years and still not grow them all. Back in the realm of reality, readers of this beautiful book can quickly and easily find the orchids that are right for them -- which ones will thrive on a windowsill, which prefer artificial lights, and which need a greenhouse; which are for beginners, which for experts. And you can pinpoint the species within a particular genus that are the best ones to start with. Once you select your orchid, William Cullina's authoritative guide explains what to do to keep it alive and healthy.

With more than 30,000 known species, orchids represent the largest family of plants. But only one genus has agricultural value—the Vanilla orchid. Leading orchid expert Ken Cameron covers the natural history of the world’s most popular flavor and fragrance and provides an introduction to the pollination, biology, structure, evolution, and diversity of Vanilla and related orchids. Vanilla Orchids also features methods for bean harvest, curing, and processing for enthusiasts who want to try it at home.

In this book, Peter Bernhardt takes us on a grand tour of the botanical realm, weaving engaging descriptions of the lovely shapes and intriguing habits of flowering plants with considerations of broader questions, such as why there are only six basic shapes of flowers and why the orchid family is so numerous and so bizarre. Everyone from amateur naturalists and gardeners to plant scientists will find Wily Violets and Underground Orchids a lively guide to botanical lore.

To access these eBooks, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

To access these eBooks, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

To access these eBooks, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

To access these eBooks, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

To access these eBooks, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.

To access these eBooks, click on book title and log on with PHS membership number.